"Still Waters"

Still Waters (The Lakeview Series #1) (Steeple Hill Women's Fiction #4)


Book: Still Waters

Author: Shirlee McCoy

Publisher: Steeple Hill, 2004

ISBN-13: 978-0373785100

ISBN-10: 0-373-78510-0

Language level: 1 (nothing objectionable)

Reading level: Ages 15 and up

Rating: 4 stars (GOOD)

Reviewed by Wayne S. Walker

For more information e-mail homeschoolbookreview@gmail.com

     McCoy, ShirleeStill Waters (published in 2004 by Steeple Hill Books, 233 Broadway, New York City, NY  10279).  Tiffany Anderson, age 33, lives in the small town of Lakeview, VA, has her own successful computer business, and is dating Dr. Brian McMath, one of the town’s leading citizens, but she begins to wonder if he really thinks that their relationship is all that important.  Jake Reed, a former Washington, D. C., policeman who left the city after his partner Will Banks was killed, is the town’s sheriff of one year, and since his first wife Sheila was unfaithful to him, got a divorce, and then was killed as a result of her reckless partying, he has resolved never to become involved in another relationship.  However, events seem to keep throwing Tiffany and Jake together.

     Tiffany sees a dog thrown from a boat by a group of wannabe-gang kids on Smith Mountain Lake, and when she jumps in to save the dog she gets pulled in and has to be saved by the sheriff.  She hires the owner of the dog, a now-contrite boy named Tom Bishop, to help her restore her old Victorian house because she thinks that he deserves a second chance in spite of the warnings of both Brian and Jake.  But Tom’s old gang friends don’t like it and beat him up.  Someone breaks into Tiffany’s house trying to steal credit card numbers of her customers.  When she is working on a gazebo in her backyard, someone knocks the ladder down, breaking her arm.  Jake must come to the rescue in both instances.  Both he and Tiffany begin to have feelings for each other, but Tiffany knows that Jake doesn’t want another relationship, and Jake isn’t sure what he wants.  Then Tiffany disappears.  What will happen?

     This book would be called Christian romance-mystery or perhaps romance-suspense.  Some might think of it as “chick lit.”  I would probably never have picked up such a book on my own, but when we recently moved and I was unpacking my books, it was somehow among them.  Neither my wife nor I have any idea where it came from, but I decided to go ahead and read it anyway.  It is actually quite interesting for those who like this sort of story.  There is nothing in it that’s objectionable, and, even though one may not agree with all the religious beliefs and practices mentioned it’s nice to read a story where sincere religion plays an important part in the lives of the main characters.  This is McCoy’s debut novel and book number one in her “Lakeview Series.”  The others are Die Before Nightfall (#2), Even in the Darkness (#3), When Silence Falls (#4), Valley of Shadows (#5), Stranger in the Shadows (#6), and Lakeview Protector (#7).  Looking at the synopses of these, I don’t know whether Tiffany and Jake appear in any of them, but the plots seem to revolve around other inhabitants of Lakeview.

This entry was posted in mystery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s