Jenny and the Cat Club: A Collection of Favorite Stories about Jenny Linsky

Jenny and the Cat Club: A Collection of Favorite Stories about Jenny Linsky (New York Review Children's Collection)


Book: Jenny and the Cat Club: A Collection of Favorite Stories about Jenny Linsky

Author and Illustrator: Esther Holden Averill

Publisher: NYR Children’s Collection, republished in 2003

ISBN-13: 978-1590170472

ISBN-10: 1590170474

Language level: 1

(1=nothing objectionable; 2=common euphemisms and/or childish slang terms; 3=some cursing or profanity; 4=a lot of cursing or profanity; 5=obscenity and/or vulgarity)

Reading level: Ages 5 and up

Rating: 5 stars (EXCELLENT)

Reviewed by Wayne S. Walker

Disclosure:  Any books donated for review purposes are in turn donated to a library.  No other compensation has been received for the reviews posted on Home School Book Review.

For more information e-mail .

     Averill. Esther HoldenJenny and the Cat Club: A Collection of Favorite Stories about Jenny Linsky (originally published in 1944 by Harper and Row).  Jenny Linsky is a small black orphan cat who lives with Captain Tinker in his Greenwich Village, New York City, brick house.  The Captain knits her a bright red scarf that she loves to wear.  A group of some twelve other neighborhood cats have a Cat Club in the Captain’s garden, and they want Jenny to join.  However, all the other cats are clever and can do lots of things.  Concertina sings, Macaroni is an acrobat, and Solomon can read.  Poor Jenny can’t do anything.  So she runs away and hides.  What will she do when winter comes?  And will she ever feel that she can join the Cat Club?

     Esther Averill (1902–1992) was an American author and illustrator best known for The Cat Club Series about Jenny and her friends.   Originally entitled simply The Cat Club, this book contains five delightful Jenny Linsky stories.  Averill went on to write twelve more books featuring Jenny Linsky: The School For Cats, 1947; Jenny’s First Party, 1948; Jenny’s Moonlight Adventure, 1949; When Jenny Lost Her Scarf, 1951; Jenny’s Adopted Brothers, 1952; How the Brothers Joined the Cat Club, 1953; Jenny’s Birthday Book, 1954; Jenny Goes to Sea, 1957; Jenny’s Bedside Book, 1959; The Fire Cat, 1960; The Hotel Cat, 1969; and Captains of the City Streets, 1972.  We enjoyed Jenny and the Cat Club.

This entry was posted in fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s