Spring Rose

Spring Rose (Silver Falls Series)


Book: Spring Rose: A Story of Silver Falls

Author: Casey Head 

Illustrator: Rebecca Carwile

Publisher: Silver Falls Publishing, 2011

ISBN-13: 978-0-9832597-6-3

Related website: www.silverfallspublishing.com (publisher)

Language level: 1

(1=nothing objectionable; 2=common euphemisms and/or childish slang terms; 3=some cursing or profanity; 4=a lot of cursing or profanity; 5=obscenity and/or vulgarity)

Reading level: Ages 10-15

Rating: 5 stars (EXCELLENT)

Reviewed by Wayne S. Walker

Disclosure:  Any books donated for review purposes are in turn donated to a library.  No other compensation has been received for the reviews posted on Home School Book Review.

For more information e-mail homeschoolbookreview@gmail.com .

     Head, Casey.  Spring Rose: A Story of Silver Falls (published in 2011 by Silver Falls Publishing,205 J. Davidson Rd., Beattyville, KY  41311).  If your mother had run away from your family when you were little, do you think that you would ever want to go and try to find her?  Spring comes to the town of Silver Falls.  The young rabbit Flynn Sorrell and his younger brother Rufus finally embark on the quest for their mother Rose.  They are to travel in the company of Flynn’s best friend, Stram the squirrel, and Flynn’s rival, Carver Wittingham, whom they learn is actually a cousin.  The four first go to Windy Hawk, Rose’s hometown to which she was reported to have fled, and, not finding her there, then move on to Emerald Lake where she went after leaving Windy Hawk.  Meanwhile, Swift the newfox tries to convert an injured eagle while Flynn’s girlfriend Lara Brownfur struggles to overcome her grief in Flynn’s absence following the death of her father. 

     What will Swift do when he and the eagle are attacked by a bunch of vultures?  Will Flynn and Rufus ever find their mother?  If they do, can they convince her to return with them to Silver Falls?  And will Lara come out of her shell of grief or sink deeper into sorrow?  This is Book Four of the Silver Falls Series.  Flynn, along with his family and friends, was introduced in Wayward (Book One).  Their story continues in Two Journeys (Book Two) and Harvest Blizzard (Book Three).  Spring Rose does include some rather serious issues, but they are dealt with sensitively and there is nothing objectionable. It is an endearing story of faith that things will turn out for the best, hope in the ability of others to change, and perseverance that never gives up on others regardless of the circumstances. Author Casey Head provides an unwavering moral background in these stories which teaches the reader many excellent life lessons.

This entry was posted in fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s