A Drake A. Halifax Chronicle: When Darkness Falls

When Darkness Falls


Book: A Drake A. Halifax Chronicle: When Darkness Falls

Author: Murasaki Hideki

Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2012

ISBN-13: 978-1477635933

ISBN-10: 1477635939

Language level: 3

(1=nothing objectionable; 2=common euphemisms and/or childish slang terms; 3=some cursing or profanity; 4=a lot of cursing or profanity; 5=obscenity and/or vulgarity)

Reading level: Ages 15 and up

Rating: 4 stars (GOOD)

Reviewed by Wayne S. Walker

Disclosure:  Any books donated for review purposes are in turn donated to a library.  No other compensation has been received for the reviews posted on Home School Book Review.

For more information e-mail homeschoolbookreview@gmail.com .

     Hideki, MurasakiA Drake A. Halifax Chronicle: When Darkness Falls (published in 2012 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform).  When evil is in control of society, who will rise up to challenge and overcome it?  Drake A. Halifax, 36 years old, lives in the mansion of Errol with his father Malcolm and step-mother Evylyn (nee Stanton); his mother Devon is missing and presumed dead.  The Four Cities of Brooke, Baron, Anston, and Gates, are under the control of the Arbiter and his corrupt System.  Drake and Malcolm are agents of the Phalanxes under General Arkules Merici, which supports the Rebellion against the Arbiter.  However, some of his step-mother’s family and friends are agents for the Center, which supports the Resistence backing the Arbiter. 

     The Arbiter sends one of his agents, Sharon Hayes, to kill Drake, who is now leading the Rebellion, but she falls in love with him.  What will Sharon do?  What will happen to Drake?  And who will win the conflict, the Rebellion or the Resistance?  When Darkness Falls is an action-packed, science-fiction type of adventure that involves espionage, suspense, and romance.  Set in a dystopian future (George Washington is said to have been “the first President more than 200 years ago”), the book is divided into three sections of eleven chapters each (chapters 0 through 10).  In “At the Behest of Loyalty,” Drake goes after the oppressive Arbiter.  “The Chorus of the Clocks” continues the conflict, and “The Ultimate Test” brings the story to its conclusion. 

     The plot might be a little confusing to some, especially at the beginning, with double agents working for both sides and some agents switching sides, but what else would one expect in a multi-layered spy novel?  As to language, the “d” word is used one time as an adjective regarding a dog, the “h” word is used to describe chaos or the actual place, and the phrase “for God’s sake” is found as an exclamation once; however, the characters do not use such words to swear in general.  Also one reference to drinking wine occurs.  The book is not for young children.  The scenes of fighting, killing, bloodshed, and death, while not overly gory, are portrayed plainly.  However, older readers who enjoy fast-paced tales of intrigue with lots of twists and turns will like this Drake A. Halifax Chronicle.

This entry was posted in science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s