I Am a Little Bear

I Am a Little Bear: Mini (Little Animal Miniature)

HOME SCHOOL BOOK REVIEW

Book: I Am a Little Bear

Author and Illustrator: Francois Crozat

Publisher: Barron’s Educational Series, 1990

ISBN-13: 978-0812061918

ISBN-10: 0812061918

Language level: 1

(1=nothing objectionable; 2=common euphemisms and/or childish slang terms; 3=some cursing or profanity; 4=a lot of cursing or profanity; 5=obscenity and/or vulgarity)

Reading level: Ages 1 and up

Rating: 4 stars (GOOD)

Reviewed by Wayne S. Walker

Disclosure:  Any books donated for review purposes are in turn donated to a library.  No other compensation has been received for the reviews posted on Home School Book Review.

For more information e-mail homeschoolbookreview@gmail.com .

     Crozat, FrancoisI Am a Little Bear (published in 1990 by Barron’s Educational Series).  Our boys loved to be read to about and to read about animals when they were younger.  What if an animal could talk? This charming book depicts a day in the life of a young bear as told by the animal itself.  Each page is a richly detailed, beautifully imagined, painted scene which depicts the woodland environment in which a little bear might live. There is no detailed plot, just a series of small focused events like playing in the water, catching a fish, and watching the moon rise.   The simple story will delight small children and the stunning artwork which creates a lush visual picture is outstanding. Author-artist Francois Crozat was 1994 winner of the coveted Critici in Erba prize at the international Bologna Children’s Book Fair for his illustrations of I Am a Little Panda

     These “Little Animal Miniature” books, which are a wonderful way to introduce children to animals in the context of their natural habitat, are available either in a small “mini” sized board book or a larger hardcover edition. We had four of them that we purchased from some book club.  In addition to I Am a Little Bear, there were I Am a Little Rabbit, I Am a Little Duck, and I Am a Big Dinosaur.  Our boys loved them.  However, there are many, many others, some of which are I Am a Little Panda mentioned earlier, I Am a Little Polar Bear, I Am a Little Alligator. I Am a Little Tiger, I Am a Little Giraffe, I Am a Little Elephant, I Am a Little Monkey, I Am a Little Kangaroo, I Am a Little Dog, I Am a Little Koala, I Am a Little Pig, I Am a Little Cat, I Am a Little Whale, I Am a Little Deer, I Am a Little Caterpillar, and I Am a Little Hedgehog.  Still other books in the series were written by different authors, such as I Am a Little Bat by Marta Prims, but I think that the illustrations are still credited to Crozat.

This entry was posted in childrens books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

