M & M and the Halloween Monster

Book: M & M and the Halloween Monster
Author: Pat Ross
Illustrator: Marylin Hafner
Publisher: Puffin, republished in1993
ISBN-13: 978-0670830039 (Hardcover)
ISBN-10: 0670830038 (Hardcover)
ISBN-13: 978-0140342475 (Paperback)
ISBN-10: 0140342478 (Paperback)
Language level: 1
(1=nothing objectionable; 2=common euphemisms and/or childish slang terms; 3=some cursing or profanity; 4=a lot of cursing or profanity; 5=obscenity and/or vulgarity)
Reading level: Ages 6 and up
Rating: **** 4 stars (GOOD)
Reviewed by Wayne S. Walker
Disclosure: Any books donated for review purposes are in turn donated to a library. No other compensation has been received for the reviews posted on Home School Book Review.
For more information e-mail homeschoolbookreview@gmail.com .

Ross, Pat. M & M and the Halloween Monster (published in 1991 by Viking Juvenile). Mandy and Mimi, or M & M, who were first introduced in Meet M & M, are getting ready for a delightfully scary Halloween. However, while planning their costumes, they begin to observe a number of seemingly creepy things starting to happen in their apartment building, like chains rattle on the stairs, red drops of blood appearing on the basement floor, and glimpses of a horrible monster. The two friends conclude that the monster is lurking in their basement. In a satisfactory ending, the mystery is solved and the girls’ fears melt into relief and happiness as they find a new playmate.

Mandy and Mimi are bright, likable, and believable characters whose humorous expressions are appropriate and typical of their age group. Through the high-spirited dialogue, author Pat Ross maintains just the right tone of suspense. The simple vocabulary and easy-reading format will appeal to beginning readers. Pat Ross is the author of more than forty books for adults and children, such as The Circle of Enduring Love, The Kinship of Women, Formal Country, and Decorating Your Garden. We also read M & M and the Super Child Afternoon, and M & M and the Big Bag. Other books in the series include M & M and the Mummy Mess, M & M and the Haunted House Game, and M & M and the Bad News Babies.

This entry was posted in mystery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s