Sir Kendrick and the Castle of Bel Lione

Book: Sir Kendrick and the Castle of Bel Lione
Author: Chuck Black
Illustrator: Marcella Johnson
Publisher: Multnomah Books, 2008
ISBN-13: 978-1601421241
ISBN-10: 1601421249
Related website: (author), (publisher)
Language level: 1
(1=nothing objectionable; 2=common euphemisms and/or childish slang terms; 3=some cursing or profanity; 4=a lot of cursing or profanity; 5=obscenity and/or vulgarity)
Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Rating: ***** 5 stars (EXCELLENT)
Reviewed by Wayne S. Walker
Disclosure: Any books donated for review purposes are in turn donated to a library. No other compensation has been received for the reviews posted on Home School Book Review.
For more information e-mail .

Black, Chuck. Sir Kendrick and the Castle of Bel Lione (published in 2008 by Multomah Books, 12265 Oracle Blvd., Suite 200, Colorado Springs, CO 80921, a division of Random House Inc.). The Kingdom of Arrethtrae is ruled over by a King and His Son, the Prince, but there is an evil enemy Lucius who is trying to take over. Lucius has many servants, such as his Shadow Warriors, the new order of Vincero Knights, and Lord Ra of Bel Lione Castle who has been enticing young people in the kingdom to join his festivals, after which many choose not to return home. However, the King and the Prince have their servants as well, including the Silent Warriors and the Knights of the Prince. Two of the latter, Sir Kendrick and his young charge Sir Duncan, are sent to Bel Leone to discover the identity and origin of this secretive new order. However, when Duncan disappears while trying to discover the truth of Lord Ra’s castle, what will Kendrick do? And how will his own mysterious past affect his actions?

Sir Kendrick and the Castle of Bel Lione is Book 1 of The Knights of Arrethtrae Series which is the sequel series to author Chuck Black’s six-book Kingdom Series. The Kingdom Series is an allegory where characters and events are based on people and events taken directly from the Scripture. The Knights of Arrethtrae Series presents Biblical principles allegorically. Each book teaches about virtues and vices found in God’s word. In Sir Kendrick and the Castle of Bel Lione the particular vices are rebellion and impulsiveness or foolishness, and the chief virtues are loyalty and forgiveness. The plot is very exciting and will especially appeal to teens and even adults who enjoy medieval fantasy. There are discussion questions with answers at the end. The other books in the series include Sir Bentley and Holbrook Court, Sir Dalton and the Shadow Heart, Lady Carliss and the Waters of the Moorue, Sir Quinlan and the Swords of Valor, and Sir Rowan and the Camerian Conquest.

This entry was posted in fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s