Andy Smithson: Disgrace of the Unicorn’s Honor, Book 3



Book: Andy Smithson: Disgrace of the Unicorn’s Honor, Book 3

Author: L. R. W. Lee

Publisher: LRW Lee Publishing, 2014

ISBN-13: 978-1500673772

ISBN-10: 1500673773

Related website: (author)

Language level: 2

(1=nothing objectionable; 2=common euphemisms and/or childish slang terms; 3=some cursing or profanity; 4=a lot of cursing or profanity; 5=obscenity and/or vulgarity)

Reading level: Ages 10-14 and up

Rating: ***** 5 stars (EXCELLENT)

Reviewed by Wayne S. Walker

Disclosure:  Many publishers and/or authors provide copies of their books in exchange for an honest review without requiring a positive opinion.  Any books donated to Home School Book Review for review purposes are in turn donated to a library.  No other compensation has been received for the reviews posted on Home School Book Review.

For more information e-mail .

Lee, L. R. W.  Andy Smithson: Disgrace of the Unicorn’s Honor, Book 3 (published in 2014 by LRW Lee Publishing, Austin, TX).  What would you do if you had to make a choice between saving a kingdom and saving a loved one?  Andy Smithson is a young lad, now just turning twelve and going into the sixth grade, who lives with his father, mother, and sister Madison, in Lakehills, TX.  However, he is transported from time to time to the land of Oomaldee, a medieval, Arthurian sort of kingdom ruled by King Heraclon V who had murdered his older sister Imogenia to inherit the throne.  Now a spirit, Imogenia is working with the evil Abaddon and his vulture-men warriors to get her revenge by putting a curse on the kingdom, and it is Andy’s job to find the ingredients which will break the curse.  A wizard named Mermin, a brother to Merlin, and a dragon named Daisy assist.

In the first two books in the series, Blast of the Dragon’s Fury and Venom of the Serpent’s Cunning, Andy, with the help of his new friends Alden and Hannah, locates the first two items, six scales of the elusive red dragon and a vial of serpent venom. In book number 3, Disgrace of the Unicorn’s Honor, Andy learns from his parents about his mother’s past.  Just what was her relationship to King Heraclon?  And what does that make Andy?  Then he returns to Oomaldee to find its people on edge after many citizens have been turned into vulture-people.  Through his dreams, he knows that Imogenia and Abaddon are behind it.  How will Andy unravel this mystery and retrieve the next ingredient needed to break the curse?  Hint—it involves the horn of a unicorn.  And what will he do when he is told that breaking the curse could kill his mother?

King Arthur and the knights of the round table meet The Lord of the Rings.  On their quest, Andy and his friends come across dwarfs, trolls, giants, and other such Middle Earth type creatures.  Yet, while the plot is definitely exciting, there is more than just an adventure story here.  The Andy Smithson books are an allegorical, middle grade fantasy series that not only entertains but also teaches uncommon, life changing principles.  Andy is maturing, especially in learning how to deal with his conscience, and thus provides a good illustration to young people of developing wisdom to make right choices.  As with the other two volumes, I really enjoyed the story.  Book four of the series, in which Andy continues with more adventures to retrieve secret ingredients needed to break the long-standing curse plaguing the land of Oomaldee will be coming in the summer of 2015.

This entry was posted in fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s