Resurrection of the Phoenix’s Grace: Andy Smithson Book 4



Book: Resurrection of the Phoenix’s Grace: Andy Smithson Book 4

Author: L. R. W. Lee

Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2015

ISBN-13: 978-1511717335

ISBN-10: 1511717335

Related website: (author)

Language level: 2

(1=nothing objectionable; 2=common euphemisms and/or childish slang terms; 3=some cursing or profanity; 4=a lot of cursing or profanity; 5=obscenity and/or vulgarity)

Recommended reading level: Ages 12 and up

Rating: ***** 5 stars (EXCELLENT)

Reviewed by Wayne S. Walker

Disclosure:  Many publishers and/or authors provide free copies of their books in exchange for an honest review without requiring a positive opinion.  Any books donated to Home School Book Review for review purposes are in turn donated to a library.  No other compensation has been received for the reviews posted on Home School Book Review.

For more information e-mail .

Lee, L. R. W.  Resurrection of the Phoenix’s Grace: Andy Smithson Book 4 (published in 2015 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, North Charleston, SC).   Now thirteen, Andy Smithson wants to go back to Oomaldee so badly.  However, for a long time, he receives no summons, no communication, nothing.  Then all of a sudden he is attacked in this world by a bunch of zolt, the vulture-people servants of the evil lord Abaddon who is trying to conquer Oomaldee.  Then finally he is whisked to Oomaldee where he learns that his friends Alden, Hannah, and Hans, along with five soldiers, are on a quest to find Princess Yara of Cromlech, whose entire family has been killed by Abaddon.  Andy also has his own quest to find another item to break Imogenia’s curse on Oomaldee, a feather from the phoenix.  And, of course, the whole party must defend themselves from Abaddon and his minions. Will Andy and his friends locate the missing princess?  And will Andy be able to collect a phoenix feather?

What I like about all the Andy Smithson books, in addition to the thrilling action-adventure stories that keep one on the edge of his or her seat, is the portrayal of the basic battle between good and evil and the important lessons that Andy learns about life along the way, such as responsibility, diligence, dignity, humility, and sacrifice..  Also, I appreciate the fact that there is no cursing or profanity, although Andy does seem to say “crap” several times in this one.  I don’t want to take anything away from this novel because I really enjoyed reading it, but after a series goes beyond three, maybe four, volumes, I personally, and this is just me, tend somewhat to lose interest.  I understand that numbers five to seven in this set are on the way.  However, if your kids enjoy good, clean medieval-style fantasy with ogres, gnomes, wizards, and banshees, Andy Smithson is for them.  The back of the book contains some fascinating trivia which highlights much of the symbolism.

This entry was posted in fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s