Folklore of Highland County



Book: Folklore of Highland County

Author: Violet Morgan

Illustrator: Milton Caniff

Publisher: Greenfield Printing and Pub. Co., 1946

ASIN: B0007F962Q

Language level: 1

(1=nothing objectionable; 2=common euphemisms and/or childish slang terms; 3=some cursing or profanity; 4=a lot of cursing or profanity; 5=obscenity and/or vulgarity)

Recommended reading level: Ages 12 and up

Rating: ***** 5 stars (EXCELLENT)

Reviewed by Wayne S. Walker

Disclosure:  Many publishers and/or authors provide free copies of their books in exchange for an honest review without requiring a positive opinion.  Any books donated to Home School Book Review for review purposes are in turn donated to a library.  No other compensation has been received for the reviews posted on Home School Book Review.

For more information e-mail .

Morgan, Violet.  Folklore of Highland County (published in 1946 by The Greenfield Printing and Publishing Company, Greenfield, OH).  When I did my review of Highland County, Ohio: A Pictorial History Celebrating 200 Years, it reminded me that I had two other books in my library on the history of Highland County, OH, where I lived for the first eighteen to twenty years of my life.  When I was growing up, we lived near the village of New Market, where I went to elementary school, about seven miles south of the county seat of Hillsboro, where I went to junior-senior high school and graduated in 1972.  Violet Morgan (1895-1983) was a long-time school teacher in Highland County.   I never had Miss Morgan, because she taught in the county system and we were in the Hillsboro City school district, but I knew who she was and would see her from time to time.

Miss Morgan’s first book, Folklore of Highland County, consists of eight chapters.  Chapter one is an introduction to Highland County with information from before the beginning of local history and about the county’s beginning.  Chapter two is a general picture of the geography, topography, flora, fauna, and climate of the county.  Chapter three is primarily about the Indians.  Chapter four tells how the white men came.  Chapter five discusses how the county grew.  Chapter six consists of truth is stranger than fiction stories.  Chapter seven covers the county’s towns and villages.  And chapter eight is about some interesting people.  In the back, there are a bibliography and an index.  Apparently, her books captured the interest of author Jesse Stuart, of Kentucky, and partly through his influence, she received a nomination for a Guggenheim Award.

Copies of this book were in both our elementary school and local public libraries.  Because of my interest in the history of the area in which I was born and raised, I checked the book out many, many times when a youngster and a teenager to do research.  It was always interesting to read about the backgrounds about various nearby places with which I was intimately familiar because I had close friends or relatives who lived there and we would frequently drive through them from time to time.  My own copy came to me in the books that I inherited from my Grandfather and Grandmother Workman, both of whom had been teachers in the Highland County schools with the author.  I still treasure it.  Miss Morgan also wrote another book, a novel entitled Squaw Winter (1955).

This entry was posted in youth nonfiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s