Blessings in Disguise: Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries, Book 1



Book: Blessings in Disguise: Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries, Book 1

Author: Nancy Mehl

Publisher: Guideposts Books and International Media, 2015

ASIN: B018387NOG

Related websites: (author), (publisher)

Language level: 1

(1=nothing objectionable; 2=common euphemisms and/or childish slang terms; 3=some cursing and/or profanity; 4=a lot of cursing and/or profanity; 5=obscenity and/or vulgarity)

Recommended reading level: Ages 12 and up

Rating: ***** 5 stars (EXCELLENT)

Reviewed by Wayne S. Walker

Disclosure:  Many publishers and/or authors provide free copies of their books in exchange for an honest review without requiring a positive opinion.  Any books donated to Home School Book Review for review purposes are in turn donated to a library.  No other compensation has been received for the reviews posted on Home School Book Review.

For more information e-mail .

Mehl, NancyBlessings in Disguise: Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries, Book 1 (published in 2015 by Guideposts Books and International Media, 110 William St., New York City, NY  10038).  Thirty year old Cheryl Cooper, fresh from just having her wedding called off by her longtime fiancé Lance, leaves her banking job in Columbus, Ohio, to  her aunt’s a gift shop, the Swiss Miss, in Sugarcreek, while her Aunt Mitzi fulfills an overseas missionary call.  Strange things begin to happen.  While investigating the corn maze next to her shop, she overhears a man’s menacing voice making serious threats to kill a woman.  Items not in her inventory appear on the shelves for sale.  She finds an ominous note telling her to keep quiet.  Then she learns that there is a woman named Abby in town who is hiding with some friends to escape her abusive husband.

Naomi Miller is an Amish woman in Sugarcreek who supplies the Swiss Miss with homemade treats, and Cheryl becomes really good friends with her and her thirty year old stepson Levi.  There are three men in town whose backgrounds are unknown.  One is a new tour bus driver.  The next claims to be the brother of the corn maze operator.   And the last is someone wanting to buy a store in Sugarcreek.  Is one of them the abusive husband who is looking for his wife?  Can Cheryl and her friends use their detective work get to the bottom of this matter, or are they putting their lives in danger?  And what will happen to Abby?  Blessings in Disguise is book #1 in the “Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries from Guideposts.

We have read two other Guideposts mystery series, the “Mysteries of Sparrow Island” set in the San Juan Islands of Washington state, and “Mystery and the Minister’s Wife” which takes place in the mountains of Tennessee.  Guideposts books are generally wholesome.  The mysteries have a great deal of suspense but omit unnecessary violence, bad language, and other objectionable features.  Families, while having normal disagreements, are portrayed as loving one another and wanting to work together rather than dysfunctional and forever at each other’s throats. And there is always an underlying emphasis on trusting in God.  Anyone who enjoys reading fiction that is set among the Amish should like these books.  The next volume in the series is Where Hope Dwells by Elizabeth Ludwig.

Where Hope Dwells: Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries, Book  2 (2015) by Elizabeth Ludwig

The Buggy Before the Horse:  Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries, Book  3 (2015) by Tricia Goyer

A Season of Secrets: Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries, Book  4 (2015) by Elizabeth Adams

O Little Town of Sugarcreek: Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries, Book  5 (2015) by Amy Lillard

Off the Beaten Path: Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries, Book 6 (2015) by Annalisa Daugherty

Peace Like a River: Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries, Book 7 (2015) by Olivia Newport

Simply Vanished: Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries, Book 8 (2015) by Nancy Mehl

A Stitch in Time: Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries, Book 9 (2016) by Elizabeth Ludwig

Mason Jar Mayhem: Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries, Book 10 (2016) by Tricia Goyer and Cara Putnam

When There’s a Will: Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries, Book 11 (2016) by Elizabeth Adams

Shoo, Fly, Shoo: Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries, Book 12 (2016) by Amy Lillard

Earthly Treasures: Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries, Book 13 (2016) by Annalisa Daugherty

No Time for Trouble: Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries, Book 14 (2016) by Olivia Newport

All Abuzz at the Honey Bee: Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries, Book 15 (2016) by Nancy Mehl

Home Sweet Sugarcreek: Sugarcreek Amish Mysteries, Book 16 (2016) by Elizabeth Ludwig

This entry was posted in mystery, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s