Fighting Devil’s Backbone, Book 3: E. Z. in the Den of Thieves


Book: Fighting Devil’s Backbone, Book 3: E. Z. in the Den of Thieves

Author: Tony L. Turnbow 

Illustrators: Michael Hutzel, Oleg Beloded, Hanson Suhendra, and Veronica Wunderer

Publisher: Tony L. Turnbow, 2022

ISBN-13: 978-1736260821

ISBN-10: 1736260820


Language level:  1

(1=nothing objectionable; 2=common euphemisms and/or childish slang terms; 3=some cursing and/or profanity; 4=a lot of cursing and/or profanity; 5=obscenity and/or vulgarity)

Recommended reading level: Ages 13-18

Rating: ***** 5 stars

(5 stars=EXCELLENT; 4 stars=GOOD; 3 stars=FAIR; 2 stars=POOR; 1 star=VERY POOR; no stars=NOT RECOMMENDED)

Category: Historical fiction

Reviewed by Wayne S. Walker

Disclosure:  Many publishers, literary agents, and/or authors provide free copies of their books in exchange for an honest review without requiring a positive opinion.  Any books donated to Home School Book Review for review purposes are in turn donated.  No other compensation has been received for the reviews posted on Home School Book Review.

For more information e-mail


     Turnbow, Tony L.  Fighting Devil’s Backbone, Book 3: E. Z. in the Den of Thieves (Published in 2022 by Tony L. Turnbow).  In 1809, Ezekiel (“E. Z.”) Perkins, a young teen, is kidnapped, along with his younger brother David, and their best friend Isaiah, by a bandit named Joshua Burton on the mysterious wilderness road known as the Natchez Trace or “The Devil’s Backbone.”  Mr. Burton demands that the boys join his bloodthirsty gang, learn the skills of a bandit, prey on travelers, and help him find some hidden gold for which Ezekiel has obtained a map. The lives of David and Isaiah depend upon his decision.   Will the three survive their ordeal?  Can they escape from Burton’s clutches?  And do they locate the gold?

     E. Z. in the Den of Thieves is Book 3 in the “Fighting Devil’s Backbone” young adult historical fiction trilogy.  In Book 1, The Shadow of E. Z.’s Fear, E.Z., his widowed mother Sarah, and David leave their home in Pennsylvania to build a new life in the Mississippi Territory.  In Book 2, E. Z. and the Chikasha Warrior, Sarah is washed away in a flood, and the boys are adopted by a friendly Chickasaw warrior named Tashka who offers them a home, but a party of enemy Creek warriors attack, Tashka is killed, and E.Z. and David are captured. Throughout their adventures, the road forces E. Z. to use all his wits to prove himself. The real battlefield is the boy’s own heart and head as he discovers who he is and the man he chooses to become.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s